Ministry of Science and Innovation
The Ministry of Science and Innovation is responsible for the definition of the National Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS) in Spain, the representation at R&D International Organizations and, to a large extent, the funding of Research Projects that exploit those resources.

The Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)
The Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is the largest public research body in Spain. It plays an active role in the scientific policy of all the country’s autonomous regions through its centres. As a multidisciplinary body it covers all fields of knowledge, from basic research through to advanced technological development.
The CSIC has got several centres and units to develop scientific research in Astronomy. The CSIC is co-owner of the Spanish-German Astronomical Centre, together with the Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (MPIA).

Great telescope of Canary Islands S.A. (GRANTECAN)
The joint stock company GRANTECAN, S.A. was funded in 1994 to promote the GTC project and construct it.
This company is participated by the Spanish Government and the Regional Government from the Canary Islands.

The Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC)
The Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) is a public consortium whose purpose is the scientific research in Astrophysics. The Instituto de Astrofísica, at La Laguna (Tenerife, Spain) is the main workplace of most personnel where Astrophysics research projects, technological development and training of researches take place. It is also a dynamic centre for educational outreach.
The IAC holds two observatories: The Teide Observatory (OT) and the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory (ORM). Currently, there are telescopes and astronomical instruments from about 60 scientific institutions of 17 countries placed in both observatories.

The General Directorate of the National Geographic Institute (IGN)
The General Directorate of the National Geographic Institute (IGN) depends on the Deputy Secretariat of Public Works of the Ministry of Public Works. The General Deputy Directorate of Astronomy, Geodesy and Geophysics is part of the General Directorate and develops, among others, the following functions: through the National Astronomical Observatory (OAN), observation of celestial objects detectable by the available instruments, technological development of such instruments, as well as participation in national and international astronomical projects and conducting research on planetary, stellar and galactic structures, and development of applications for very long baseline interferometry.
The Yebes Astronomical Centre and the representation at the Institut d’Astronomie millimétrique, along with the Max-Planck Society and the Conseil de la Recherche Scientifique Nationel depend on the IGN.

Centro de Estudios de Física del Cosmos de Aragón (CEFCA)
The CEFCA is a foundation of public interest of the Ministry of science, technology and University of the Government of Aragon that was created in 2008 for the construction of the Astrophysical Observatory of Javalambre (OAJ) and its scientific exploitation. The main lines of research of the CEFCA concentrate in the formation and evolution of galaxies and cosmology.