Infraestructuras en Radioastronomía 2017-09-26T10:51:49+00:00

Radio Astronomy Infrastructures


The working group on “Radio Astronomy Infrastructures ” is a forum for information exchange and sharing of activities and strategies for radio astronomy infrastructures in which there is Spanish participation. This working group is entrusted with the following tasks:

  • To promote a better use of radio astronomy facilities that are accessible to the Spanish community today (CAY, IRAM, APEX) or in the future (ALMA and eventually SKA among others).
  • To support the Spanish delegation at ESO in regard to the monitoring of construction and operation activities of ALMA.
  • To funnel the possible Spanish participation in SKA (Square Kilometer Array, collecting the interest of all interested groups and promoting their scientific, technological and industrial impulse in Spain.
  • By request of the RIA Board, to carry out as many studies and reviews on radio astronomy infrastructure as required.


The RIA Board shall appoint a maximum of six members for this working group, including at least two IGN members and two CSIC members.

A representative of the Directorate General of MINECO competent in the area will attend to the meetings, as a non-voting member.

The Board will designate the chair of this working group among its members, for a two years period, with no extensions possible.

When deemed appropriate by the chair of this working group, the following people will be invited to the meetings:

  • A Spanish delegate at ESO Council (MINECO).
  • The Spanish member/s of ESO Scientific-Technical Committee and at the European ALMA Science Advisory Committee.
  • In matters involving industrial returns, the chair will also invite a CDTI representative, usually the el Industrial Liaison Officer for Spain at ESO.
Name Position Affiliation
Jesús Martín-Pintado Chair CAB (CSIC-INTA)
Rafael Bachiller Vice chair IGN
Jesús Gómez Member IGN
Pablo de Vicente Member IGN
Lourdes Verdes-Montenegro Member IAA-CSIC
José Carlos Guirado Member UV
Benjamín Sánchez Head of the Spanish Delegation to ESO MINECO

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies ACEPTAR

Aviso de cookies